Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The world that we live in today is a materialistic world. Each one of us is motivated by higher incentives. In private organizations, the employees always try to give in their best performance due to monetary incentives. Henceforth, correlating a teacher's salary with academic performance of the students might actually help in improving the academic performance of the students.

In today's scenario, money plays a significant role in each of our lives. Money gives us this purchasing power which helps us meet our needs and demands. Hence, it would be natural for everyone to try to earn as much money as possible as they can fulfill more of their desires. Thus, going by this common notion, if teacher's salary is linked to the student's performance in academics, the teachers might actually put in more effort to help students improve their performance.

If we look carefully into the human behaviour, we always try to put in more effort when we see there is a possibility of higher amount of incentives. Consequently, this human behaviour is universal and applicable everywhere. A teacher when he sees that his students are not performing academically well, there is a very high possibility that he might not be even concerned with it because he will not be getting any extra incentives for his additional effort. Whereas, when he finds that on helping students improve their performance, he will be getting additional incentives, he will definitely try to put in more of his effort. Additionally, leaving the monetary benefits aside, he will feel a sense of satisfaction of helping his students improve their grades. Thus, it is very much evident that the academic performance of the students can be improved by offering additional incentives to the teachers.

On the contrary, there is a downfall to this as well. Some teachers might use methods that helps in securing good grades but not learning. The teacher might end up giving a load of assignments and teach the students the very specific topics which are important from examination point of view. Thus, indirectly the teacher will try to promote rote learning over actual learning, which is detrimental for students on the long run, as they will not understand the logic of the topic. However, this problem may be curbed by setting up standardised tests for students, which would determine the students academic performance. By setting up standardised tests, the teachers will try to promote actual learning over rote learning.

Thus, in a nutshell, we can definitely see the advantage of linking the teacher's salary to the academic performance of the students. However, there might be some downsides to this as well. But, taking some additional measures will help curb this.