Teachers salaries should be based on the academic performances of their students.

The statement states that the salaries of the teachers should be based on the performances of the students they teach and it should not be fixed salaries. Using such an idea would not be proper to evaluate the teachers. As the students might be different in each class and may be biased to the particular subject that might could be affected on the salaries of the teacher.

Firstly in many schools there is division system in which according to level of the students they are bifurcated ,suppose A,B,C in which students are differentiated according to their merits. If the students of A class performs good then the teacher of the class A is paid well and others are not. If the idea stated in statement is followed it may be the case no teacher would be ready to teach students of the class with lower merits. How can a class in which there are variety of students few intelligent, few are blithe and few are average can decide the cost of the teachers efforts. And the result is always gone be average as some might be inviting or some might be not happy with it. so result will always be average or some times above average. so choosing idea of fixing salaries on the basis of the performances may be unjust for the faculties.

Secondly evaluation of the students score is in the hand of the teachers. So if the policy of salaries on the basis of the academic performances is adopted then it might be case that teachers start taking out easier papers for students or awarding the students more marks compared to they have earned with respect to their writing. It might increase corruption in the system as the teachers are trying to give marks illicitly to increase their pay. There can be case that in some recondite subject like say geo chemistry students might not get like involved, though the teaching of the faculty is the best or the faculty has given wholesome efforts. Then using the above idea would be injustice to the teacher as she has not in the fault in the case when the subject not liked by the students.

One more better method that can be adopted by the educational institutes is they can give incentives to the teachers on basis of the performances of the students. suppose teachers in the class has X amount of the fixed salary then on basis of the performances they are awarded incentives according to the performances and efforts of the students in that particular subject. Using such may they can get inspired or motivated to make some more efforts to improve the performances of the students who are below average and at least by assisting them they can be leveled up to the average.

Hence using above reason it shows that applying the idea according to the statement is not recommendable as there are many demerits of it and using it is not justified.As in many case the performances of the students would not be properly evaluated as teachers can try increasing the grades by using deceptive methods. Instead of it using incentive based schemes would be a better choice or alternative would be considered better.