Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, technology has become predominantly significant in people's lives. Everyone seems to be dependent on technology, from simple things in life such as ordering food online, to confound situations such as scientific research and analysis. It is certainly obvious that technology is important and almost irreplaceable. Yet, does technology actually simplify our lives? It arises a rather controversial issue. Personally, I believe instead of making our lives easier, technology is definitely creating more convolution in our lives.

On the one hand, technology can be a double-sided sword. With the sufficient information provided by technology, admittedly, people gain access to things they could hardly ever reach before the existence of contemporary technology. However, under this easily-acquired structural frame towards public or personal information, it is true that people's privacy are invaded. Such technology-incited vulnerability is bringing complication to people's lives. Many incidents regarding private information leakage had happened in the United States or all around the world, such as kidnaps, commercial theft, loss of digital files...etc. These type of information damage complicate people's lives dramatically.

On the other hand, the prosperity of technology industry can increase the cost of living to the general public and thus deeply polarize the economic situation, thus complexes our lives. Though technological development is rarely classified as a negative impact, it is indisputable that such development will surely exacerbate the economical gap between the rich and the poor. More advanced things will be invented, bettered, and sold at a higher price, which stimulates the market of the capable. Such well-off members of the society will invest even more back into the technological market and therefore create more wealth. Whereas the lower end of economic ladder will mostly likely stay stagnated in terms of economic growth and prosperity. In this case, the gap of the quality of living will continue to expand and eventually become the unstable factor of the society in terms of economy, which furthers undermines the simplicity of our lives.

In a word, while technology does aim to provide a series of benefits in order to simplify people's lives, its ability to complicate our lives is inevitable. From daily lives to professional worlds, technology never stops to make our lives more complicated.