to understand the most important characteristic of a society one must study its major cities

The author states that to understand the characteristics of a society, one must know about its major cities.Its true that major cities of the society consist of people from different backgrounds which can offer us with the broad idea of that society but it won't truly give us the most important characteristics of the society hence i disagree with the assertion made by the author.

Major cities of any place have lots of people who do not belong to that society but have traveled to the area in search of job, property etc and hence, follow their own religious or cultural activities from their own society where they have traveled from and some may follow the traditions that belong to that society they live in.Which makes the major cities moreover a mixture of cultural and traditions which can not in whole give us any important characteristics of the society we want so it's not really the major cities but the rural areas that carry the main characteristics of a society.

The rural areas of any place comprises of cultural, tradition and religious aspects of a society where there main motto is to keep up their rich culture then other aspects of life which gets us more close to the characteristics of a society such as if a major city like New Delhi into account to understand the important characteristic of the society then we may not be able to collect any information which may be termed as useful because the city comprises of all different cultures and traditions on the other hand if we check a small town lt would give us a more concise amount of details that may help us understand the important characteristics of a society.

Therefore if we want to understand the important characteristics of a society one must learn about other small cities than only major cities because it may give u a very little amount of information that won't be enough to understand the main important characteristic of an society.