The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author states in the argument that increased rush hour trafic on blue highway has doubled the computing time hence they are two proposals being made one is to widen the highway and the other is to add a bicylcle lane which suggest that it will be better and easire option as the residents are keen bicyclist and will prefer commuting via bicylcles.The author also provideds unwarranted evidences to support his argument which on deeper scrutiny reveals that none of the evidences provided are well suited to support the authors claim hence , lets scrutinize further.

Firstly the auhtor unnecessiarly claims that the green highway traffic has got worse after the addition of the extra lane this evidence is not supported by any data or information which gives us the better idea that the evidence provided by the author is valid as it may be possible that the traffic noticed was on a particular day which had increase in traffic due to and accident or due to heavy rains which is quite a bpossibility hence, then unwarrated assumption made by the author that the widening the blue highway may also cause traffic like green highway and also if the author claims are ri9ght about the traffic getting worse at green highway then on what basis can the author judge that the blue highway may cause the same as for comparing any two things there shouold be some common ground which is not provided by author their can be chances that the green highway traffic increased due to shift of trafic from blue highway which not that well constructed hence this claim made by the author is not strong enough.

Secondly, the author gives an alternative to decrease the traffic at blue highway by adding a bicycle lane on the bassis of the evidence that the residents of the area are keen bicyclist which is again and assumption made by the author that if the residents are keen bicyclist they would prefer commuting via bicycles this an unnecssary asumption because their is no information provided regarding the distance to be traveled by the residents to commute to the area they want to as it might be possible that the distance to be covered by the commuters is large and can not be covered by bicycles and also their is no survey or information provided that all the residents who commute are keen bicyclist there are chances that the ones who are keen bicylist in that area do not travel from the route of blue highway or do not travel at all hence this evidence provided by the author is weak.

Thirdly, the author sates that the bicycle lane will encourage the commuters to travel through bicycles which is not a reasonable option to be provided as there can be chances that the residents who are keen bicyclist take that as an hobby not an alternative to travel for work or personal travelling option the idea of making an lane for bicycle just on the basis that residents near by are keen bicylist is unwarranted as no information has been provided above to cinfirm that whether the people will prefer rthe alternative provided as it may be risky for people to travel via bicycle on the highway which can cause accidents aswell which is not considered by the author hence this evidence provided is not strong enough.

hence, if the author has to go forward with the idea of construncting a bicycle lane on the blue highway has to provide with valid data to answer all the doubts mentioned above to make the argument stronger which for now is weakened.