The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this above letter clearly believes that we should no longer invest our resources in manned space flight, mainly because of its high costs and its dangers to astronauts. Therefore he argues that unmanned space flight is a smarter option both economically and in regard to human risk. However, he makes several assumptions about the benefits of unmanned space flight, while not giving enough evidence of his negative views of manned space flight. By being unable to prove that manned space flight is indeed exceedingly costly and dangerous, and by assuming that manned space flight will be more effective and less costly, he lacks support in his argument that we should indeed invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

Though his report on the recent success of unmanned space probes and satellites is compelling proof that unmanned space flight is indeed useful, he does not give enough supporting evidence about whether this information is comparable to the information obtained by manned space flights. He only says that the unmanned space flights have "gathered a great deal of useful information", but he does not say what sort of information the space probles and satellites have gathered. The information might have been related only to certain, mechanical aspects of space exploration, such as analysis of a planet's atmosphere or surface content. Some space flights might require more than just this sort of mechanical labor and may highly benefit from the creative thinking skills or observation skills of a human astronaut. For example, a space mission with the goal of obtaining information about unforeseen breakdowns of space equipment may benefit more from human hands and logical thinking ability than from the workings of a machine. Therefore, the author must prove that the ability of unmanned space flight is analogous to the ability of manned flights in various endeavours.

Even if the author could provide compelling evidence that unmanned space flight brings high quality results that are equal to manned flights, he does not prove his other point that unmanned space flight is preferable to manned space flight because of the high costs associated with sending people to space. In order to prove his statement that unmanned space flight should be adopted, he has to show that unmanned space flight is more affordable while being equally effective. However, he does not mention whether the program does indeed cost less. It could even cost more, for all the reader knows, due to more expensive maintenace fees and costs for more technologically advanced equipment.

Though the author is obviously more inclined toward unmanned space flight than the traditional manned flights, he does not prove evidence for his statement that manned space flight is dangerous. Though the nature of space travel is so extraordinary and incomprehensible to the layperson that it seems naturally dangerous, statistically, it might even be safer than car travel or plane travel. The author merely states that space travel is dangerous, but he does not show any figures or facts or prove that unmanned space travel will reduce injury and mortality rates related to space travel in general. If his statement is proved unwarranted, then he would be expecting the nation to invest in unmanned space flight when it is not necessary.

Though the author desires for a change from manned space flight to unmanned space travel, he has to prove that manned space flights in fact are more costly than unmanned space flight, and that they are in fact more dangerous. He also has to prove that unmanned space flights bring in the same caliber of information as manned space flights. If his statements about space travel prove unwarranted, then he would be encouraging the nation to invest in a program that is has high potential of being more expensive and less effective.