An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author proposes that an international development organisation has engineered a new brand of millet that has high source of vitamin A should be promoted by the government at all expenses because people at Tagus have deficiency of vitamin A.

For the above proposal author has also provided us with certain evidences which on deeper scrutiny is revealed that none of the evidence land credible support to the idea proposed by the author.

hence, lets scrutinize them further.

Firstly, the author unnecessarily assumes that the people in Tagus are suffering from vitamin A deficiency which can be removed by increasing vitamin A in their staple diet. This assumption made by author is unwarranted as there is no data or survey provided to prove that all the people in Tagus are suffering from this deficiency as there could be possibility that the deficiency is only among few people or there can be chances that the deficiency of vitamin A occurred only for a certain period of time.hence, the author should have considered to provide us with a proper record that shows us the deficiency of vitamin A is a major problem in Tagus.

Secondly, if even we consider the above statement to be right the author next claims that the new breed of millet that is engineered by the organisation is high in vitamin A and this claim made by the author is again not supported with any kind of information which can make it plausible that the millet used at present are low in vitamin A and the new millet are higher in vitamin in comparison.This claim is made without any details provided to consider the comparison to be applicable.hence this evidence give by the author is of little help.

Thirdly, the author states that the new millet seeds are comparatively higher in cost hence the farmers will be paid subsides for farming the millet.The author does not provide any information about whether the farmers land are good enough to produce the new millet as there are possibilities that the new millet need a proper climate condition that may not be available in Tagus and also the author does not consider that there can be possibility that there is no available land that can produce sufficient amount of new millet to full fill the need of the population hence this evidence is not of any use as well.

Lastly the author claims that as the Tagus populations staple diet is millet they will readily adopt the new variety of millet produced.The author does not provide any information of the cost difference in the old millet and the new millet and also does not provide any survey that provides us credible information that the people living in Tagus are ready to adopt the new millet and are comfortable with its production.

Therefore the conclusion provided by the author that the government should do everything to promote the new millet is not acceptable as if the author wants the idea to be promoted he should provide us with credible and surveyed information to make this conclusion plausible for now the argument is weakened.