To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the po

The author clearly shows direct link between the understanding of characters or features inherited by any society and the study of major cities of that society. Author rightly relies on assumption that by getting information about the major cities of any society , we will be able to know about its most features. Just as each society have its own beliefs and traditions, so has some places i.e. cities which greatly describe them. By studying these cities one can get information about the tradition followed by society and practices carried out by its members. For instance, in order to study Punjabi culture one can visit to most famous cities like Amritsar, Anandpur and many more to get good in depth understanding of their culture and historical background. Furthermore, one can know the functioning of the society. The established hierarchy controlling the society. The faults in the society as shown by its city study.The common interests shared by people of that society.All these can be understood by having knowledge about the major cities. For having the knowledge about any society’s characteristics, one must have some good source that best describe that society. Major cities provide us, no better source than these, with dependable and trusted sources for obtaining any information about the society. So it can be concluded that major cities can be most reliable sources for any society’s understanding, but as society contains different people that can have different objectives, tradition etc. there can be some unclear understanding also that one has to be careful about. Above information shows that study of major cities of any society provide good understanding about the society.