To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Considering studying major cities to understand the critical characteristics of the society, I am strongly inclined to take the side of this statement regarding the numerous social factors that appear solely in the major cities. It goes without saying that the population can be considered as the definite factor to take into account a city as a major one. However, other factors such as the location, city antecedent, economic conditions, etc plays a minor role. Regarding the incidence of social problems and concerns that associated with a major city, it is highly unlikely that these issues occur in a minor city. To elaborate more on the topic mentioned, the following reasons and examples will be presented.

First and foremost, regarding the crucial characteristic in the study of a society, the psychological viewpoint can be indicated as a categorical factor to be concern by social science experts. The city population always will be accompanied by significant psychological issues particularly among the people interaction with each other. The major city provides excellent opportunity to investigate and decipher the psychological puzzles among the people in the variety of ages including teenager, youth, and adult people. In other words, in the major cities there are a massive cases that can be studied psychologically and prescribed them by effective solutions to improve the living conditions as an ultimate goal of social science study.

Another primary reason can be attributed to the security of crowded and major city. It is obvious in the minor city, the intensification of violent events is much less than a major city. As the annual crime reports reveal, the major cities more often than not can be considered as a through case for studying all violent events.

In addition, as the society study involves the related subjects that focus on the budget and economic factors, the major cities can provide a real case to observe the situation of economic reaction and interaction such as the volume of investment, employment conditions, and banks transaction. It is crystal cleat that there is a causal relationship between the volume of economic interactions on the one hand and the volume of city on the other hand. For instance, Beijing as the capital of China with the highest population city in the world, involves huge monetary daily that is conducive to high consideration compared with a minor city. Having regarded the explained example, the study of a major city is more connected with economic factors as the substantial part of social science study.

Aside from the point I made above, the major city involves the substantial problems that have noticeable impact on the environmental. As the society study should dramatically consider the influence of humans of their surrounding, the harmful impact of the major cities on the environment such as air pollution, destroying other living beings habitats and extraordinary exploitation of natural resources are much more than the minor cities.

It is also worth noting that some importance characteristics of a society such as the process of society formation, the orientation of some religious believes and the root of some ancient traditions drive from the historical evidences. Therefore, I cannot emphasize permanently that the major cities provide all the necessary elements of society study.

Taking all of these perspectives into account, I cannot agree more about the importance characteristics of the society that can be studied in the major cities regarding the psychological viewpoints, the huge volume of economic events, and noticeable impact on the environmental as the vital characters of a society. To my best knowledge, there are some substantial social factors such as the religious and ancient tradition that the major cities cannot be implied as the perfect case.