To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Traditionally, every society composes of several smaller groups of people who live in major cities or in the countryside. In order to be familiar with the most characteristics of a society, some people prefer to study its major cities; while others prefer to pay more attention to rural areas. As this writer’s opinion, I agree with the former idea. In what follows, I will elaborate on my reasoning and examples.

To begin with, major cities are occupied by more people than rural areas. It goes without saying that the population is the most important factor in analyzing a society as a whole. For instance, Tehran, the capital city of Iran, occupies by a variety of people with different styles of living, religious, economy, and so on. these people share their idea, communicate with each other and live together as a whole. Therefore, a person can observe a major city and learn a lot about the whole society due to the variation and high population of the city.

To add, major cities have more positive or negative impacts on society. Consider a big city such as NewYork city which is the center of the arts and also it is the representation of the American’s culture and tradition. For instance, sculptures and constructions can tell us about the ancients and the history of the United States. In addition, big cities face some issues such as traffic or air pollution which can affect people or in a wide range, the environment. Also, big cities play crucial rules in political and economic events that are important characteristics of every society. All these factors bold the major cities among other parts of the society which a person can pay attention to them.

Finally, although big cities reveal most of the characteristics of a society rural areas can assist a researcher to find complementary information because rural areas are occupied by native people who keep their traditions and live in their ancient’s way with a little difference. Hence, they can represent historical information about a small group of society, not as the whole.

To put it briefly, as I mentioned above, one can infer that major cities can help a scholar who decides to be familiar with a new society, because not only major cities consist of a wide range of people from different part of the country but also big cities are the platform for important events and occurrences which affect the whole society.