To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The writer of the issue contends that it is only through an investigation of the features of the major cities in a country that the most salient traits of a society is revealed. This is a contention with which I generally agree for the following reasons.

First, most government institutions are situated in urban sites, and due to the significant impact that they have on a country's development, it seems essential to take into account the features of a society manifest in cosmopolitan cities. These days, it seems that the authorities that run a society inevitably shape the direction toward which a society is headed. Some people sometimes even argue that to examine one society, one only needs to appraise the officials governing that community. For instance, one cannot even think about studying the major features of the US without looking into the living conditions in large cities such as New York or Washington as a byproduct of government agencies being located there.

Second, most major cities have developed over time, and hence, analyzing their characteristic features, especially those influencing social behavior, could provide a window through which a country's culture and history could be more vividly observed. Take the case of Tehran, the capital city of Iran, for example. Although there are some cities in Iran with a longer and richer history, Tehran was recognized as the capital since the reign of Taherian, the tribe who ruled half the world one day. Since then, this city experienced myriad of social movements both from within and from outside the city. Several scholars have taken the job and produced a relatively thorough account of the values underlying the Iranian culture solely by looking into Tehran for evidence.

Nevertheless, what I alluded to in the body should not be overgeneralized; that is, the structures of rural communities are also worth reflecting as far as the analysis of a country's major features as a whole are concerned. Historical records are richer in villages, for instance, insofar as they cannot be readily overlooked when one wishes to describe the characteristics of the whole community, including those living in rural areas.

In conclusion, although this is clearly a contentious issue, I hold that the features in the major cities of a country are more prominent and thus more clearly represent the conditions that a given society lives in. However, this should not be taken as an indication that rural cites play no role in the development of cultural and historical values of a community.