As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a documented fact that technology has the potential to revolutionize different aspects of human life. The most conspicuous way is how humans depend on their thinking ability to address the issues commonly raised in their lives. The writer of the issue contends that there will be an adverse impact of technology if people use it too much in order to confront areas of difficulty in their lives. Although this is an argument with which I generally agree, I nevertheless believe that this issue has two sides going with it. The following essay will illuminate my perspective.

First, there is a growing body of research studies shedding light on the underlying constructs of critical thinking ability, and it seems that few of these constructs can be nurtured by technological devices which are at use today. In order to develop the ability to arrive at a solution to an outstanding problem, one of the constructs of critical thinking, one should practice augmenting the efficiency of one's performance through collaboration with a larger group of individuals. This could take the form of devising a plan about how the problem should best be approached. This stands in contrast with most technological innovations in the modern era aiming to enable the users to act autonomously without directly appraising the different sides of an issue.

This is not to state that all the factors contributing to one's ability to think insightfully depend on one's cooperation within a group. However, what seems to be the key in the further development of critical thinking is for the individual to be utterly engrossed in the subject matter, whether it is their studies or a dilemma they are facing. This is again at odds with the trend that technology is leading us to, depriving the users from thorough contemplation of the issues by providing them with the fastest route to the solution, which pertains solely to the problem at hand. The strategies that a computer presents, for example, may not be generalized to other contexts.

However, what I alluded to in the body should not be taken as an indication that technology deters autonomous thinking categorically. There is a myriad of technological devices which function solely as an assistance to the human mind, providing the means for it to further its Zone of Proximal Development (ZPD), to put it in Vygotsky's words. For example, I have personally witnessed that some video games engage the kids fully by introducing gradual hints in a stepwise fashion to help them overcome the difficulty of the question. Such initiatives which are now becoming more and more rampant in computer games these days clearly capture the essence of Vygotskyan theorizing. This all suggests that the way technology impacts human mind should not be perceived through only a negative eye. There are potential benefits to it as well.

All in all, taking all the aforementioned argument into account, I hold that the way technology affects people's lives, particularly their potential to think creatively, is not all negative. Through a closer examination of some technological innovation today, we can attest to the benefits of technology in enhancing people's intellectual capacity.