To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The issue statement given states that we can understand the traits of a society only when we understand the characteristics of the major cities. This statement could be partially accepted and partially rejected based on the society in different regions. People of different cities may also have different societies and they vary in different countries. Therefore, it is not right to take a decision that only learning about the major cities will conclude the characteristics of a society. But, we also should consider that in some regions or countries the characteristics of the societies remain constant that they can be easily understood by its major cities.

In some countries like India, the societies differ from each states in the country, which internally has different types of social difference between the different cities in the states. So to understand the characteristics of the Indian society one should start learning the culture of each city in the country. For example, consider Tamil Nadu, a state in India. It has more than 20 cities which have different traditional and cultural values of its own and each society differs from each other in their own way. The people of the Chennai city will behave different in a different way than that of the people in the Coimbatore city. Similarly, people of Madurai city will be different from the people of Tirunelveli city. Hence, it is difficult to conclude the social behavior of a country have a diversity of heritage and cultural values. Therefore, in this case it will be difficult to come to a conclusion about the society since the societies are diverse. This is a small part of the country. Imagine a country with 29 states and each states consists of more than 20 cities we cannot come to an inference about the society of the country. Moreover, people in each state speak different language which is also adds value to the argument that it is difficult to learn about the society by learning the major cities. The same theory can be applied to the European counties also where there are diverse languages and cultural differences between those countries.

The statement may also be valid for many other countries in the world. There are places around the world were the behavior of the societies in a country remain constant in a country. Places like Arab nations can be studied by their major cities. The rules in all the cities remain constant and has the same language throughout the countries. Their cultural values also remain the same throughout the Arab nations –They pose conditions to women that they should wear the burqa when they are outside. Even those countries refrain the suffrages for women. These countries can be easily studies by their facetious characteristics they keep up. Countries like Australia and America also contain the similar characteristic where they can be studied by their major cities as the cultures in each cites within the county is similar throughout. Therefore, it is also important to accept this point of view which is prevalent in different places.

Thus we come to know that it is irrelevant to come to a conclusion about this given issue. The coin has two sides and similarly this issue also has both positive and negative views. If we accept one view the other view becomes invalid and vice versa. Therefore, in this vast world it is a big challenge to learn about the behavior of each society. It can be verified by the major cities in some cases and can also be difficult to understand because of the vast societal differences within the regions.