"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The statement given is found to be a conclusion made from a research by scientists on a group of eighteen rhesus monkeys. The study has resulted that the level of stimulation is more on the first born monkeys than their siblings which they also observed the same pattern in human when subjected to stimulations and the scientists have also observed the production of the hormone cortisol at higher levels in the first born monkeys which also was observed in humans. It is also stated that the cortisol level is higher in the first-time mother monkeys. It can be found that the statement contains flaws and the research may not be completely accepted based on the facts provided by the scientists.

First and foremost, the study states that the experiment was conducted only on the “rhesus” breed monkeys. We cannot accept a theory based on the research conducted on one breed and arrive to a conclusion that it can be widely applied to all the primates. It can be noted that the study conducted on the other breed of the primates did not result in the same conclusion. It is also noted that the argument proposed is also not certain. The word “clues” in the statement proposes that the scientists have not completely acknowledged the experiment results and is just a conjecture arrived by the scientists. So we cannot accept the statement based on a conjecture.

It is also noted that the research states that the first-born rhesus monkeys produce more cortisol hormones than its siblings when experiencing a stimulating situations. But these production of cortisol hormones were found to be produced less in the other breeds of monkeys. When the other breeds like chimpanzees and gorilla were subjected to similar tests, it was observed that they produced relatively less amount of cortisol hormones. It may be true that the first-born human also produces the same amount of cortisol hormones as that of the rhesus monkeys but as I mentioned above, tests conducted on a single breed cannot be applied on all the breed.

The last line in the statement concludes that the first-time mother monkeys produces large amount of cortisol hormones than the monkeys with more number of offspring. This result was found to be negative on humans and other breed. As per the research results by the other scientist in Africa, who examined all the breeds of the primates they presented that the level of cortisol in the particular “rhesus” monkeys were tend to be more than all the other breeds of monkeys and even human. And the hormones tend to get increased even more when they face a stimulating conditions. First-time pregnant rhesus monkeys get stimulated more than the monkeys with more offspring. Hence the level of cortisol hormone gets increased in rhesus breed. The rhesus monkeys can be agitated easily which also leads to the production of more cortisol hormone.

Thus we can see that the statement presented by the scientist without a proper validation results in argument and hence based on the reasons stated above the research is not valid. The scientist have to be more precise in their research that there should be no argument over it.