"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The statement given states that there is a steady decrease in the number of shoppers in the Central Plaza due to the increased popularity of skateboarding. The store owners in the Central plaza also blame that due to increases skateboarding their business seems to be decreased. They also condemn the increase of vandalism and litter and recommend to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza so that their business will develop again. It can be seen that this statement put forth by the store owners of the Central Plaza contains many flaws which they fail to comprehend. Let us discuss the drawbacks of the statement below.

First of all, the shopkeepers state that the numbers of shoppers have been reduced due to the popularity of skateboarding. This is a false statement put forth by them. It is seen that over the past two years, there has been two other shopping malls opened nearby the Central Plaza. It can be true that the shoppers might have been enjoying shopping in the other two malls which has more varieties of shops. As per the survey taken last month from the shoppers, the other two malls seem to lead in terms of sales than the Central Plaza. So the shoppers failed to look through this perspective. It is also noted that the number of skateboarding is equally high in the other two malls and the people enjoy watching skateboarding. The Central Plaza is also the oldest plaza in the city that the customers have been visiting over a decade. Since people have been introduced to two other new shopping malls, they tend to explore and shop in those malls. Therefore, the store owners must concentrate in upgrading their stores and try to increase the sales rather than complaining about the skateboarders.

Secondly the store owners also state the increase in the litter and vandalism in the plaza due to the skateboarding. The other two malls do not report any issues regarding the litter and vandalism. Hence it can be possible that the security of the Central plaza has to be increased and the staffs has to be hired to clean the Plaza now and there. Since the sales has been decreased in the Central Plaza, the staffs hired for security and cleaning were reduced to half. This might be the reason for the increased littering and theft in the Plaza. The survey taken by the Public Hygiene Department last year states that the Central has to increase their hygienic conditions. This was long before skateboarding was allowed in the Plaza. Regarding the vandalism in the plaza, most of the things lost belongs to the skateboarders not that of the shop keepers or the shoppers. Therefore, the Central plaza should start tightening is security.

Therefore, from all the evidences given above, it can be stated that prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza will not improve the sales of the store owners. It can be seen that they try to blame the skateboarders for their poor sales instead of updating their store based on the needs of the customers. It is also the responsibility of the Central plaza owners to provide a safe and hygienic conditions to the shoppers and the skateboarders.