Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The issue states that the students are restricted to choose their own field of study by the educational institutes as they believe that the students might not succeed if they don’t have the talent to flourish in that field. This statement might be partially true but not always. An institute should not discover the potential of a student based on their studies. A student may have different inner talents in them which has to be recognized by the educational institution and encourage them instead of discouraging them. I do not state that they do not have the responsibility in shaping the future of the students but they should not dissuade them from pursuing their field of interest.

A student can achieve in a field only if he has the interest to study. If they are made to pursue in the field which are not interested they will end in frustration at some later point which finally leads to their destruction. Many educational institutions try to convince the students at a younger age that they have to pursue only the selected courses, which is not right. In country like India, the talents of the students are given least important. The school or colleges only emphasis on two coursed, either doctor or engineering. Students are finally forced to make a choice between these two courses because of the educational institute and sometime family. Many students have lost their track to their passion and lead an unhappy life. I have seen many students who are interested in sports but are not able to continue their passion due to pressure given by the educational institutes that only academic marks can make a student lead a successful life. These educational institutes fail to see the potential of the students in the sports field. Educational institutes should identify the interest of the students and try to shape them in that field rather than dissuading them.

We can find many great scientists who were all judged by the educational institutes because they were determined to follow their passion. Albert Einstein was also judged by his teachers that he is unfit for school but he turned out be one of the greatest scientist. He postulated many theories to their amazement and remained successful. Even Steve Jobs was a college dropout who managed to start his own company and became successful in building his own empire “Apple”. So we can see that students have to be shaped in their field of interest and they should not be judged in the younger age for what they are likely to become. Judging the students at a younger age is not a right thing to do. They must be encouraged in what they do and that is the right thing for an educational institute to do. Judging a student not only degrades him but also reduces his self - confidence.

Therefore, I conclude saying that the educational institute has every right to indulge in the future of the students but they must try to shape them in the way the students want to become. They must not force them to leave their passion nor try to judge them at a younger age. They can give suggestions to the students but not try to compel them.