Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The issue states that the people’s attention is dragged towards a problem only when a Scandal occurs and not when a speaker or reformer try to bring out the attention towards a problem. This statement is partially true because we, as public never pay heed to any reformer who tries to explicitly bring out an issue to us. What a reformer is not able to do, a scandal does. Only then, we open our eyes to look into the problems we face. But as we can see that people have become more responsible towards their problem. They try to confront their problem and try to bring the attention of the people. In this case scandals are not required.

Nowadays, scandals occur everywhere, in every department. For example, Education, Politics, Business, etc. The world has scandals in every corner. If a reformer tries to identify a problem and tries to reform, people never pay heeds to him. It goes unnoticed by us. But when it is exposed as a scandal, the whole world knows about it and it becomes a biggest talk of the nation or world on how big the scandal is. For example, when the 2G scam occurred in India, it was the biggest talk of the country as it involved the leading politicians in the scam. Even before the problem was brought to light as a scandal many socialists were trying to direct the people to the problems. But people never tried to pay heed to them. Later when it was exposed as a scandal people were more into the problem and the news on every channel for months. This example shows that the Scandals are reliable to draw our attentions on the problems and some problems are best exposed through scandals.

As I stated earlier, people are trying to bring out the problems to the people without the use of any scandals. Social media plays a major role through which many reformer or activists put forward the problem and the people becomes aware of it. It also initiates a positive response from the people that they start to support the activists. One such problem occurred in Tamil Nadu, India where all the people started to protest to ban the PETA organization which tried to stop the famous “Jallikattu” (Bull Fight) event from happening. In order to save their cultural heritage of the game, all the people form Tamil Nadu started to protest. The protest started overnight with lots of people gathering in the Marina Beach in support for their culture. This event started with a single activist and ended with the whole state protesting for their rights. Therefore, this proves that Scandals are not necessarily needed to drag the attention of the people. Even a small message in a social media explaining the importance of the issue can lead to the people’s attention to it.

Thus, I conclude stating that scandals are important in sometimes but not all the times in bringing out the problem to the people. People are matured enough now and even the students are matured enough to handle the problems in how to bring out the situations to the people and drag their attentions. As the famous saying goes “A coin has two sides”, the statement also has two sides with is unique in its own way in bringing out the problems to the people.