To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is a confluence of a number of elements. It is made up of beings, relations, interactions, and everything else conducive to these factors. In order to understand such a society, we need to consider all those parameters which contribute towards its development. One such parameter is the geography of a society.

It is often argued that the study of major cities should be a consideration while learning about the most important characteristics of a society. To some extent, I find this argument flawed. Even though cities can be good sources for deciphering the nuances of a society, it would be misleading to restrict our scope to these concrete jungles.

The fabric of the human world comes from the villages and small towns of any country. The advancements we have made in fields of technology, economy, literature or weaponery wouldn’t have been possible without going through the foundation of a bucolic life. While the cities are worthy platforms for exhibiting the know-how of any society, we have years of secrets stashed in the roots of our ancestral pastoral lands. The Israeli author Yuval Noah Harari was able to unravel the mystery behind the rise of ‘Sapiens’ as the ruler of the biotic world by going deep into the mindset of the savage man. Many essential inventions of the modern world find a strong hold in the non urban life.

One may argue that the current pace of economic and tech growth has shifted the focus from the humble countryside to the glamourous townships, we cannot ignore the fact that our modern cities have evolved from the traditional towns of the yesteryears. We surely cannot overlook the humongous cities reinventing themselves as buzzing hubs of social activities but we need to maintain a trade off between the small and the big lives.