To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the major cities of a state are often the place where most of its inhabitants reside, one is easily brought to believe that observing the cities’ features can give a good understanding of that society. This method, despite sounding reasonable, this method does not consider the enormous differences that can be present between the big city and the countryside.

In fact it must be considered that, as densely populated as they are, big cities are not the only place where the population is located. This means that even though a country’s major cities provide very high living standards, good employment and general wellbeing of its residents, in that same region might live people in poverty and suffering. considering Italy, for instance, when looking at the data coming from its big cities, such as Milan, Rome, Florence and more, one is tricked to think that the country is all very developed and provides high quality life. But if we look closer and study the state of the countryside, the south in particular, unemployment and poverty are all around it.

On the other hand, what is true is that, when studying the living conditions of the majority of the population or the businesses operating in a given region, the big picture view yielded by the observation of the cities can give a first understanding of what a society looks like. In fact, going back to the above mentioned example, most businesses in Italy and most of the population of the country are in the major cities. this gives us a first understanding of the society we are studying.

This does not imply that the cited method is reliable when seeking to understand the most important characteristics of a society, in fact Milan and Rome are great youth poles that attract thousands of students from all over the country and the world, but this does not mean that Italy is a very ‘young’ state. On the contrary it has one of the highest age averages in Europe. The study of the major cities of a society might give a good understanding of a certain characteristic but is not in general a reliable method.

In conclusion, despite being true that studying the major cities can give a first impression of a society, the mere consideration of the cities cannot give a full understanding of any state or region. It is through looking at the full picture that one can comprehend all the characteristic of a society without leaving apart a fundamental piece of the puzzle.