People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

making a decision is no easy task for anyone of us, especially when such decision can shape our future career or academic life. when making a decision a lot of different factors come into play and the human being can be influenced by his or her emotions during this process. it is true that trying to justify with logic decisions based on emotion is a characteristic of a poor decision maker but the issue can be much more complicated as explained in the two following paragraphs.

Firstly, decisions related to one's academic or work life should usually be made using logic rather than relying on feelings. For instance, if someone is in the process of choosing which university to apply to for his or her Master's degree, relying too much on emotions can easily lead to a poor outcome. In fact, if he or she chose a university merely based on where his or her friends and family are located and only then tried to justify this choice using logic, this person would probably end up being unsatisfied with that choice. For this reason the process of making such an important decision in someone's life should be based primarily on logic, following the most promising and interesting path instead of nostalgia and, in general, emotions.

These other factors - emotions, friendships, family - can and should also be considered in the decision but must not be put in front of logic and, if considered, should not be justified with logic as they are intrinsically irrational. following on the example in the previous paragraph, the person make the decision could, and, in my opinion, should also consider the above mentioned emotions related factors when deciding. However it must always be clear to him/her that it would be completely foolish to try to justify such elements using logic. In conclusion those factors should be considered when making a decision but should also be taken as they are without trying to justify them.

Finally, even though some people might argue that every good decision should be driven and justified by logic, for all the reasons mentioned above this is only true when evaluating factors not related to one's feelings and emotions. In this case, those perfectly valid elements must be taken into account but without trying to cover them using unnecessary logic. family: "Times New Roman", serif;">