To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. Version 2.0

The statement linking the sense of a society positively with the crucial traits of its cities pays on the definitions what a society and a city are. Indeed, the briefest reflection on the explanations of a society – a large group of people who live together in organized way, making decisions about how to do things and sharing the work that needs to be done- and a city – a place where many people live, with many houses, stores, businesses, etc. – might have made anyone to release the same claim.

Apparently, to a certain extent the statement is true since there can be observed a considerable number of features in common between these two definitions. The assumption here is that any city producing knowledge of society is a society itself, a sample of the original society or so-named a society-city. Consequently, it containing a vast part of attributes of a society-country brings and has something own. Here, in any megapolis, city, town easily can be found its own history, the way of life, culture and traditions, religions and heritage. Should anyone happen to visit any city even only on a pair of days, it would be definitely a beneficial experience in understanding and absorbing not all but at least a noticeable amount of knowledge about its society. So, what about the whole, compelling view on a country?

Undoubtedly, the society of a whole county or even a group of similar countries is something more rather than characteristics of its major cities. Having taken into consideration the unprecedented development of cities over the world, the globalization and the evidence of growing intermingling, it can be explicitly concluded that the megacities which have been developing in the one common direction over the countries become similar to each other. So, unsurprisingly, there could be pointed out that a tremendous layer of innocent cultural aspects has been located beyond the cities. Being the main keepers of indigenous society with its traditions, religions, heritages and etc. the towns, villages deserved to be paid attention to. Inevitably a prominent question one might ask is whether the megapolises and cities do not reveal any information about and do not help in comprehending the other society’s attributes.

Actually, never in the recorded history of human beings has the diversification of cultures and, of course, the societies been developed as widely as it is today. Nowadays there have been highlighted the several levels of different societies not only on the territory of one country, but obviously in the frame of one city. Consider subcultures and sub societies have spread out over the cities, countries, the continents and the planet. Simultaneously there are the several global villages, developing in some common way and modifying in a huge one, over the world and the blizzard of differences, specific features, having remained in each specific society.

Indeed, having analyzed all facts mentioned above, the statement doesn’t seem to be completely rigorous. However, there is no need to build either a controversial claim or solid claim against it. Instead of it, just in order improve the picture alter the statement by considering the small cities, towns, villages and even more the remotest place of one took country.