To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

This topic raises the controversial view that society can be studied by understanding its major cities, indisputably, country is recognize by its major cities. Nevertheless, ignoring the bucolic part of nation where tradition and rituals regarding the society are preserve, and considering the major parts seems controversial. Thus, I disagree with the opinion that to understand society as whole one must only consider the major parts and ignore the rural ones.

First of all, major cities are the place which majorly face the globalization, immigration, and exposure to today’s world, in that sense, considering the situation in major cities where most of the folks are not indigenous or parts which have exposure to trending fashions and cultures, is it feasible to understand the real cultural by understanding the major cities?, answer to this question is ‘No’, urban cities are the place where most the folks are immigrated to earn a bread or to get education in university, in that sense, considering the tradition in major cities seems unsound.

Secondly, rural part of a nation which have less exposure to the globalization and today’s world, it is most likely that they are less adulterated than the folks in urban areas and their originality of the cultural and rituals are well preserve in rural areas.

Thirdly, society, as whole is a combination of urban as well as rural area, considering the example of Paris a major city in France, commonly known as the “fashion hub of world”, considering the tradition of fashion in Paris doesn’t commensurate with the fashion in rural region of France. Similarly in Mumbai (economic hub of India), considering the staple food as fish and rich in Mumbai, it doesn’t commensurate with the staple food of India.

Conclusively, it is important to study major cities as they represent their nation but to understand the real tradition and cultural one must understand their bucolic part as they are less adulterated and less exposed to current world, which help to preserve their tradition and culture, which help to give an holistic view of a society.