Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the
societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility
of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.
Corporations can be viewed as both beneficial and bad. This statement addresses
both views that many people have about corporations. Views come from personal
experiences and is the reason why some people like corporations and why some
people do not.
Half of this argument deals with people that like the idea of corporations. Some
people believe that corporations help stmiulate societies and promote the well being of
society. These people are ones that have never encountered a corupt corporation. Just
like in any other aspects of life, people can get images of something as being good if
they only brush the outside. It isn’t until they are being faced with a problem within a
particular corporation where they either work for them or have just dealt with them.
Also, people that are benefited from corporations are obviously going to like the idea
of an corporation.
The other side of this argument is that many people believe corporations are just
money hungry. This can be seen in many corporations throughout America. Many
small business owners will side with this argument. The problem lies that this is
corporate America and the little businesses are being taking over by larger corpora -
tions. As Mark Twain once said, “The vast amount of money is only in a couple of
hands”. This statement still lies true today. In addition, corporations are large and with
that being said they lead to more lines of coruption. In small buisnesses, the owners
can oversee their store entirely. Can these corporation owners really oversee every -
thing that is going on? Ask any employee at a corporate office if they believe their
workplace is being ran how they think the corporation would want it. One is likely to
find the answer that it is not.
Just like any other issue there are two sides to the story. The problem with this issue
is that most will agree that corporations are only there to make money. They don’t care
about the people that are helping them make money. They only care at the end of the
day how much money they made.