To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humanity is in a constant change process. One of the most important things that has not lost a bit of its importance is the significance of big cities in defining countries. In this sense, the prompt made in the question underlines a vital point in the role of metropoles in understanding what countries are like, what their characteristics tell. In this vein, I mostly agree with the statement while I concede that one should not only rely on big cities when trying to understand the country as a whole.

Firstly, It is a fact that big cities tell a lot about the general cultural behaviors of a society, since they are comprised of people from every part of the country. Big cities are like small sets of the countries, they subsume citizens from all cities, hence, cultural behaviors of many different people from many different places. One must stress that, although a country seems like to be a single unit, it is always difficult to make general characteristical definition of a country. For example, Istanbul, the biggest city in my country, consists of nearly twelve million people, but there are only three million Istanbul born people living there. In this sense, how can one define Turkey and then Istanbul. There are some dialects in every part of the country that most people do not understand a single word of it although it is Turkish. Big cities play a critical role here. An anthropologist can understand whole Turkey just by looking at Istanbul, for he or she can find every type of people representing a different aspect of the country. Thus, big cities are important when studying a country since they are more representative.

Secondly, economically speaking, big cities are important elements in understanding the dynamics of a country. Every country aims to be successful economically, since the norms of the system that is shaping the world's economic perception requires each country to be as independent and integrated as possible. In fact, since big cities are the locomotives of the countries, they are important to understand general characteristics of a country. If we continue with the example of Istanbul, she alone, makes the one third of all Turkish economy. Many businessmen from different countries visit, many tourists prefer to see Istanbul, thanks to its significance. How foreigners are treated, how trade is handled tells tremendously about a country. As seen, big cities again play a crucial role in defining a country, and its habits.

However, one can always iterate that, it may be misleading to define a country just by studying its big cities, and I agree with this notion. Countries are immense entities and they are difficult to solve in a glance. If one really tries to construe several aspects of a country successfully, he or she must consider every part of the country and study each aspect accordingly.

All in all, I mostly agree with the prompt that big cities give people important clues about a country, while I concede that if one truly wants to learn about a country, he or she should consider every part of the country.