To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society plays an important role in shaping lifes of an individual and is at the heart to developeing ones stand in society. The prompt suggests that to deveiop an understanding about a society, one must study its major or important cities. In my opinion, I diagree with the author as the characteristics of major cities can guile us in thinking only about the positives abiut the societies and hide its counter point.

To start with, the study of societies reveal the most about its human behaviour and its upbringing of its citizen as the environment around us play an important role in shaping our personality. So by studing only about its mojor cities or the oneswhich are developed and alread have overcomed its problems will not help us to evaluate its real problems. For instance, a society in major city as Delhi : capital of India, is one of the most developed and major city in India. Most of its societies have open mindset and can easily find appropriate solution for problem and its development have developed its scieties which no longer needs to fight and face some of the major issues faced by a less developed or backward city as Nashik, a small town in westen India. Which still believes in its backward, outdated societal believes and traditions. Such type of problems cannot be recognised while only studing the high class societied ahich will only reveal its good side.

Additionally, societies of major cities have to chase diffrent problems as compared to other less developed societies. For example, the quality and exposure of education system in a small villege or town will be diffrent as compared to a major city. Which will lead to drastic change in its upbringing and the way of finding a solution to querry. Even the exposure and different innovative ways the modern students find in major cities cannot receive this kind of knowledge in small thown students. Thus, solely depending on the understanding the behaviour of major cities will lead to compromised result.

Of course one might argue that, the vast majority of a countries development is evaluated by its society in the major city. So what is the important of minor ones? But this might not be the case, as overall devlopment is the key to success. Therefore, to evaluate and characterize the society we need an overall perspective of the nation and not just the major ones.