To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that “When you are in Rome, do what the Romans do”. People follow the trends of technologies and other materialistic things which are trending in the cities in the fast-paced world. These mega cities surely help to shed some light on the culture and other aspects of the society, but they are not certainly accurate reflection of the same. I mostly disagree with the statement, mentioned in the prompt and there are couple of reasons, I would like to elucidate below.

First, if we travel to any corner of the world, most of the major cities of any country, are so developed in past few decades due to advent of the technologies. There all the facilities like homes, medical assistance, food, multinational malls and restaurants, food chains are available. The globe nowadays becomes like a small town. Hence, it eventually feels that all cities are same. We hardly find trace of the original culture or trends of the city when we go to see the cities. Hence, these major cities cannot hold much more importance to showcase characteristics of the society. For instance, despite, the Capital of India, ’Delhi’ is one of the developed and densely populated cities, there is so much diversity of the people and their culture in Delhi, who live there, so original characteristics of Delhi city are somewhat disappeared now. People mostly travel to these cities like Delhi, in hope of good work-life balance, education, health facilities. And it is the same when we go to any metro city of India. Similar view goes with Mumbai, it is the ‘city of dreams’ but as it is very dense and with vast diversity of people, we cannot find original ‘Mumbaikar’ in the crowd.

Secondly, I also reckon that the rural towns are sometimes hold little more importance as far as characteristics of their original culture are considered. People from rural areas try to preserve their originality or main characteristics of the society. As we are in technology era, rural areas of the countries are also now being moved toward urbanization but for instance, I would like to provide the example of ‘Hampi’ (in State of Karnataka, India), which is included in World Site Heritage recently. This city is in rural area of the state, but it is now being famous, among and international historians and travelers, people and other tribes are trying hard to preserve their city and its culture. Though they are generating huge revenue due to tourism business, they show their cultural characteristics through their temples, folk dances and different handmade paintings, films, instruments.

Another example is Paris, though this city is famous for their arts such as, paintings, constructions like Eifel Towers, how much originality is now remained in the city? Mostly we can see recent new structures of churches, monarchs and diverse people hanging at river bay areas in Paris.

To conclude, I would concede that, mega cities from the countries show the social, economic, and political aspects, they certainly play their part to make us understand about the progress of society. But rural towns are more appropriately represent the important characteristics of the society.