Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In Today’s fast paced world, people are living a busy and stressful life. Hence, they find a way to vent out a tension through indulging themselves in smoking the cigarettes. Smoking is one of the important reasons of severe health problems, sometimes results in a death as well. So, government should implement action plans such as stopping cigarettes’ sales and similar tobacco products. I agree with this approach and below essay will elucidate its impacts on individuals as well as on the society.

To start with, Tobacco plays an essential role in the economies of various countries all over the world. For instance, in India, 3% of GDP is generated through tobacco business. Additionally, India is second largest country, producing a tobacco and occupying the export business market in the world.

Secondly, it is observed that there are numerous hazardous effects of tobacco on human health. For example, daily utilization of cigarettes can result into heart diseases, Asthma, Chronical Bronchitis, mouth cancer. Furthermore, in women, it can affect the reproduction system which in turn, lead to births of babies having a low weight. Also, youngsters and teenagers can be addicted to its consumption, easily turning a blind eye towards its ill effects. It is not only detrimental to the individuals but also to their members of families, affecting their mental health, in a long run.

To conclude, after a thorough comparison of good and bad effects,the drawbacks of tobacco products outweigh its benefits. So I believe, government should take strict disciplinary actions to turn down its usage among population. Authorities should regularly demonstrate its part in current economy and run campaigns to make people aware about its pernicious effects time to time.