To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Prompt suggests that in order to understand the most significant characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. I agree to the point that studying major cities will be more effective and be a short-cut in trying to find out a society’s characteristics.

In modern societies, vast amount of people live in cities rather than rural areas, which causes majority of culture following people to be created in the area as well. In my own nation, South Korea, almost over 50 percent of our population resides inside Seoul, the capital city and its nearby satellite cities, also known as Seoul metropolitan area. The gathering of people eventually leads to concentration of resources. For instance, university for education, companies or government institutions as for working places, and sophisticated, intertwined network of subways for transportation are all highly condensed in the giant city. Accordingly, we can increase chances of witnessing many kinds of aspects of our society and as importantly, in a relatively short time as well.

Yet, there are characteristics of society that we can’t encounter in a modern, mega-sized cities. There are things you can only experience in rural areas only. Perhaps, nature can be easily accessed compared to a city and this can leave some nature-related things to be present only in the countryside. Not only personal skills like how to farm, how to raise animals but also cooperation culture between other residents in the countryside can be seen only in these places.

Nevertheless, to better understand characteristics of a society, inspecting how people live in major cities are easier. Each major cities have their own culture or styles of their living. For example, the representative of eastern part of U.SA, perhaps, New York city is known to be quite different between Los Angeles which represents the western part of the states. Because of their weather being so different and geographical gaps existing, the city landscape (including houses and buildings) are conspicuously different. By comparing between major cities as such, one can relatively, easily figure out the differences and characteristics of society.

For these reasons, studying major cities can be helpful in studying characteristics of our society. Notwithstanding the other methods which we can find out about our society, looking into major cities is an effective and faster way to understand society.