Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Leadership confers on us responsibility, and as such it is necessary to have an holistic view of our position, our environment, and also a knowledge of the treaty of decision making that we are going to be engulfed in, hence the need to have a broader perspective of the past, present, and the future. It is also important to note that the past may have little or no effect, thereby leaving us with an irk of doubt, and pushing us to new ways of things as discussed below.

One of the most important discourse in human and societal behaviour is Change. Change brings about a new perspective, ideology, and a renewed mindset, which may affect decision making. As time changes, and the past fade into obsolesce, humans have discovered that leadership need not rely on historical precedence. A foremost concern is the recent outbreak of the Corona virus pandemic, in which no leader of the world had an idea of how to manage the pandemic. Speculations, discussions, and iterative decisions (not tied to historical involvement) were used to mitigate the spread of the virus. The idea of social distancing, wearing of mask, and also proper washing of hands had not precedence in history, hence most leaders took critical decision on the spot, such as were seen on their bewildered face when the death toll rose sporadically, with some in tears, frustration, anguish, despair, and disharmony. The pandemic brought a wave of change that sends a spiral message, that the past is of little use in leadership.

Moreso, the advent of technology, and the bizarre rush of the world into the technical space, as shown that with time changes are bound to happen. Most leaders in corporate world had to rely on the younger generation for intensive technological innovation, and ideas in running their corporation. Most of these leaders had to create department such as Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Data-Science to help the organization stay afloat and be in synchronization with technological trends - that which has a strong advantage to influence and increase business opportunity. An example is Oil Giant Total - who had to create a Digital Factory in France last year 2020 - with a variety of Data Scientists, Software Developers, Machine Learning Experts, Business Intelligent Professional in order to help drive business forward, by optimizing cost reduction, and increase revenue yield from their Renewable Energy forefront. This has helped the organization moved forward, rather than relying on the past for ideas.

A critical discourse that shows no or little effect on history on current leadership is the recent wave in education and the swift response, as the pandemic hits, most graduate programs have done things that have never been done before some of which are application fee waiver, GRE, TOEFL waiver, and more enrolments for Graduate study research, this has opened doors to a lot of scholars who had the intention of studying abroad, and a research driven mindset. The Leadership of this Graduate program refuse to heed to historical precedence and as such created room for an avalanche of research opportunities, opening doors to innovation, ideation, and above all a niche- for focused driven research studies. This has never happened in the history of graduate studies. The obvious is stated, and it is clear, that leadership had little to do with history.

Nevertheless, one of the greatest challenge of Leadership is ability to make quick decision on the spot that are crucial to the current challenges facing the leader at that time. This decision could make or mar the organization, and also promote and denigrate the success of such establishment. In order to be vast or apt in making decision, a leader must have a retrospect of the past, and its accompanying history. History confers on us much knowledge as to helping us take notable risk. This ability to have an astute knowledge on precedence is very important. A case study is the decision made by Trump Administration to issue stimulus check of $600 to all Americans (due to the ravaging effect of the pandemic on the economy, and the populace) such decision was borne by his predecessor, in which he became aware of historical precedence of stimulus check distributed during world war 1. This would go a long way in helping his position as a President in saving the life of the populace.

Leadership is responsibility in serving, in bringing out the best in order, managing human capability, endeavors, and institutions. It is one of the most delicate ladder in human progress, as decision making, and information gathering a requisite for a successful leadership. It is noteworthy to stress that time inconsistency, and change consistency has shown that the past is of little importance. Every leader must adapt to circumstance and change, and can only be effective if he or she understands his or environment.