Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Character of a person is judge by the image he/she has created it the society. It is stated in the prompt that in society, creating an appealing image has become important than the reality or the truth behind the image. In my not so humble opinion, I mostly agree with the statement that creating image in more important than the reality.

To begin with, now a day’s most of the people are busy making fake image in the society so that society will accept them. If due to certain reasons if a person don’t have good image in the society then society benight him/her and consider him/her as a big debacle. For instance one can exemplify, if a person is involved in some sort of crime or if the person is reputation is hamper due to his one mistake then society will give him a tag as a debacle. They will not see the reason behind his action instead of that society will create various false rumors to attenuate his image. Due to this reason no matter how person is from inside he/she always tries to maintain appealing image.

Moreover, due to old thinking of society, they don’t see every job as pleasant one. Most of the time society judge person on his job title. Society thinks that person who is involved in a job which has less pay is not apt and to such person society consider as debacle. But, society doesn’t understand that the person’s character is dubious on his job title. They categories people according to their job so person who is having good job good pay have positive image in the society whereas person who don’t have good job or good pay have negative image and such person is isolated from society. For exemplar, person who is doing office job have positive image in the society no matter how he is from inside whereas person who pick up the garbage have negative image in society and most of the time these people are benighted.

Finally, society also ignores or isolates people who think differently than everyone else. If person’s thinking is modern or straightforward than such people are benighted because even though these people are right but it creates negative image in the society and society jumps to the conclusion that this person in debacle. For instance, in sixteenth century people used to believe that earth is flat and it is centre of the universe and all other planets revolve around it when great scientist Galileo Galilee placated that earth is round and sun is the centre of the solar system society ignored him considered him as a debacle and kept him is house arrest. Society was not ready to accept the truth and consider him as a mad person. Due to such events in history most of the people maintain fake image in the public.

In conclusion, by considering all the point discussed above it is true that unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind the image.