The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavour additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the prompt that use of Salicylates in food are reducing the problem of headache in residents of Mentia. Additionally they also support the argument by stating that, Salicylates are the member of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine which is use to treat headache. Recently food processing company has found that Salicylates can be used to add flavour for food and with this use of Salicylates they expect a steady decline in the number of headache. However before coming to this conclusion few question need to be answer.

To begin with, is there any side effect of consuming more Salicylates? Or is it safe to consume more Salicylates in regular meal? As, many foods are naturally rich in these Salicylates, so there is no need to add more in regular meals. If consuming more Salicylates leads to serious health problem than this idea may lead to big failure. People in the region of Mentis will suffer from different health problems and this health problem may be more dangerous than head ache. If this turns out to be true than many people in the region of Mentis will fall ill which may also lead to death so some people.

Secondly, what is the proof that over twenty years decline in average number of headache is due to consuming more Salicylates? Maybe in twenty years there is change in government law and rules which may have reduce the work load and this may have result to less stress on people around the Mentis and result of that are fewer headaches. Or level of pollution from past twenty years is reducing and due to clean environment people are not getting headache. Or due to improvement in the field of medication people are consuming other medicine which leads to average decrease in the headache. If any of this is true than statement made in the prompt that, rise in use of Salicylates in past twenty years reduce the average problems of headache does not hold the water.

Finally, what if by adding artificial Salicylates in the food increases more health problems? As it is said in the prompt that many foods are naturally rich in Salicylates. As they are naturally there in the food so there is no health problem but adding artificial Salicylates may create a problem. As natural food is hundred times better then artificial. Maybe by adding artificial Salicylates will reduce the headache but it may give birth to other problems. If this turns out to be true than it may cause more problems and people of Mentia have to suffer more from other health issue.

In conclusion, if all this above question are answer by giving more evidence than it will help to strengthen the argument.