"Unfortunately, the media tend to highlight what is sensational at the moment. Society

would be better served if the media reported or focused more fully on events and trends that will ultimately have the most long-term significance."

In the above topic,the author is stating that the media is focusing more on those ephemereal events which are more popular or controversial,but neglect those events which generally are less sensational but have a long-term significance.Some may support the media by stating that these short term controversial events attract a lot of people which is also why many newspapers' headlines contains those . Others in opposition of this trend may say that it doesn't give the much needed attention to more significant news which leads to unawareness among people. In my view,I also don't support this trend of sacrificing more valuable news for those short time sensational events which have very little or zero value in common man life .

Giving more coverage to events which have more value and can affect others in long term have various advantages . As an example,if more focus is given to the laws or amendments done in Parliament of a country like India ,then people will be aware of what changes are being done ,for whom it is done and how it affects them. A great example of this is Triple Talaw Bill passed in Indian Parliament.This protects the rights of Indian Muslim Women against bad old practices like giving divorceby just saying "Talaq" three times . This not only gives the power to Muslim women to fight back ,but also check these unfortunate events from happening in the first place,making a better society .

Moreover,media has a great role in making these events known and explained to the common people . One great example where media actually gives attention to more valuable news is the various dicussions happening on mandates of different parties in Indian elections.This help the people to know what are the longterm plans of any party . Various opinions are given by experts in concise for each mandate . This helps the voters of India in choosing correct government for them. This actually decides the direction of any country's development and also affects the society too.

Although,one can say that we should not totally avoid these ephemereal sensational events . There are many reasons for this . First,it actually increase the view rate or TRP of any channel because many people get attracted by controversies etc . This increase the popularity and income of that channel which they would prefer . Secondly,sometimes these types of events are a result of something large hidden event or a indication of something big .

In the end,I would state the less popular events having more valuable long term significance should be given enough coverage and should not be sacrifised for short term sensatiional news .It is incumbent of media to make people aware of what is happening and how it is going to affect them . This increase the credibilty of any channel ,thereby giving them much needed views or TRP too .