Topic ::

The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The claim that butter can be safely replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake restaurants since a miniscuse amount of customers has complained when server the replacement containing margarine. The author also claims that customers either don't distinguish butter from margarine or use "butter" term for margarine itself. On a casual read,the argument looks persusive to readers,but a closer inspection of the premises brings out certain loopholes. The author needs to address these assumptions with reliable and atrogn evidences for strengthening the claim.

Firstly,the author states that the replacement has very little impact on the customers since only 2 percent of them has complained ,which is minuscle. However,this basis of the claim is weak and unreliable. First of all,the author should have made customers aware of the change and then havd taken the feedback. Additonially,it may be possible that many compalints went unnoticed because either the customers didn't come again or they may have bad health effects after long time of eating margarine.Therefore,the author should provide a more credible survey on customer's feedback and should also take into account study done over long time period for tracking any long term effect of margarine.

Secondly,the author has not provided any substantial information about the effects of maragrine on human health. He should provide a reliable scientific study providing exact info about the health effects of margarine on different age groups. It is highly likely that margarine may harm human health incisively which can only be tracked in long time. Also,the author should also provide a study on the health status of their regular customers to track issues with daily margarine intake.

In conclusion,the argument has several weak points which cannot be overlooked easilty. The author needs to provide reliable and detailed evidence about effects of margarine on human health in order to bolster the argument.Additionally,the author needs to increase the credibilty of its premises by taking customers' feedback after making them aware of the replacement.This will highly support the author's recommendation.