Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author states that interview-centered approached used by Dr.Karp should be used for future research on child rearing practices than observation-centred approcah in Tertian Culture. He also claims that during interviews,children talked more about their biological parents than other adults which makes Dr.Field's results invalid. After a casual reading,the argument seems convincing.However, closer scrutiny of the argument reveals many loopholes which the author needs to address.

Firstly,the author states that Dr.Karp visited a group of islands including Tertia Islands and interviewed their children. However,the author has not provided any substantial information about the interviewes. It is highly possible that most of the children are from islands other than Tertia Islands where the child rearing culture is different.A detailed report or any strogn statistical evidence showing distribution of children by island will increase the credibilty of the argument.

Secondly,the author has based his argument on the response of children which seems very simplistic base for such argument. It is highly likely children are unaware of the social rules in the island. The author should provide a more robust base like a detailed study of soceity's involvement in child rearing for a large perios of time.Additonally,the author could also strengthen the argument by including children of different age-groups for interviews.

In conclusion,the argument has several weak points which cannot be overlooked easily. The argument would have been more persuasive if sufficient statistics or data would be provided in support by the author.