Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure

Knowledge to some extent and in a sense is said to be power. This proves itself in the arena of university setting whereby, varieties of courses are offered for the benefit of the students. The stimuli averts that universities should promote the idea of student taken courses that outside of their specific areas of interest. I most likely agree to the above statement because of three reasons.

First of all, it may affect the GPA of a student negatively. For example, in the university I attend, we had a science student who was a first class student right from his first year. But, unfortunately for him, when the new policy set up by the school came up for students who are in different departments compel to take compulsory courses from those departments, it was a massive failure for the medical student because throughout his studies he had never encountered other course. Given such a situation it became the root to the failure of this brilliant medical students. Hence, the school had to intervene because, it was going to worst that the boy, and the school fear that the boy may ended have pass as a grade. So, the school helped out and granted permission for the student to stick to his field.

Secondly, students in some sense could be versatile. For, instance studying philosophy has given me the opportunity to encounter other courses like: psychology, sociology, anthropology and others. With such an added advantage, I can stand anywhere or whenever I am called upon to speak in different area that is not my field I could at least engage in a discussion without being left behind. Therefore, in this sense, the idea of studying other courses shows itself as something helpful and beneficial. So, to this end the idea of university enforcing taking courses from other areas could be said to be helpful in sense.

Thirdly different students have area of strengths and weakness when it comes offering courses. On the other hand, it is quite important to have students have themselves engaged in other courses; but let us not forget the fact that as students people have their own strength and weaknesses. Hence, it is nice to put such into consideration when making such a decision because what is good for A may not be good for B. As a result to avoid having students making a clash and misplacing their priority should be avoided.

To conclude, I therefore most likely agree with the idea that university students should take different courses because of the above reasons. More so, there is need to avoid having poor grades by students as result of offering different course, students are enriched with knowledge in different areas, and also having in mind about differences when it comes to academic performances by different students.