Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

University is a very important time in ones life it decides what one will be for rest of his life. Learning subjects outside the field of study lead to waste of resources.

A students time at the university is very crucial ,as he prepares for what he has dreamed of becoming throughout his life. During this process if he is told to study subjects which he doesn't require for reaching his goal is a waste of his time. For example, if a computer science major student is told to study about ancient history. He has no use of the subject throughout his lifetime or in the job which he is going to pursue in the future. Or if we tell a history major to study microbiology it would be a waste of his time as he will never have a chance or need to use what he has learned. Subjects outside the course of study will only increase the mental burden on the student, and waste his time which he could devote to what he liked, that is his major.

Moreover if additional non-course subjects are taught, it will result in students having to stay at the university for a longer time. This will incur higher cost for completing the education. Which many students may not be able to pay, due to lack of financial support. Students from poor background will find this extremely difficult. This can cause a unbalance in the society as the poor will not be able to pursue what they intend to. In addition to costs and usage, the student will also have to spend a longer time at the university to complete subjects which don't help him or are not of his interest. The lack of interest in non-course related subjects can lead to failure of the student in this subject. Which may impact his studies and affect his chance of getting a job. These low marks can also affect his mental condition and make him drop out eventually.

Though, studying additional non field of study subjects has its demerits. It can also be said that it leads to holistic development of a student. As, courses which help personality development can make a person more social-able and can help him blend in different work environments without any problem.

Studying non-field of study subjects can increase graduation cost, time taken to graduate and add additional burden upon a student. They also delay young enthusiastic work force from entering the work field. So, it is better to stick to the field of study subjects. Though there are some benefits of additional subjects but they can be studied later on when the need arises.