Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To become sagacious in life, a person must have knowledge of several fields. Experts always get their hands dirty with different subjects to improve their cognitive skills. What makes the experts an expert is their capability to connect different ideas from various fields of study. A cell phone is a combination of Computer Science, an engineering branch that writes the program to connect to individuals located in different parts of the globe, and Electronics and Communication Engineering, which designs the individual parts of a cell phone. However, the necessity to design a part in the cell phone may require an individual to be focused in one field. Therefore, technology and other related areas can be improved if a person is doing research in a particular field.

Sometimes, a student can be undecided about the majors to be pursued in the university. Finding the area of interest is a cumbersome task, and it can also take months to be figured out. In this case, a student should opt for various subjects across a gamut of fields to find the area which best suits his interests. During the pre-university, if the student has done some extracurricular activities related to surveying the archeological sites, then he can read some extra subjects related to social science. This way will help the student to narrow down the list of subjects, and finally, the student can figure out his interest based on a particular field.

Often time, the university researchers conflate the ideas from variegated fields to make a breakthrough discovery. For instance, Machine Learning, when performed on the cryptic signs that are painted on the Egyptian walls, can predict the time in which the pyramid was built. However, this is only possible when the researchers know about the history of the pyramids. The history will help them to formulate the problem at hand, and therefore, they can come up with breakthrough solutions. Similarly, medical equipment requires an engineer to understand the medical terms. If the engineers have the knowledge about when to signal a doctor when the heartbeat of a patient goes down to a certain level, then only their equipment will be considered as a significant discovery.

The students in university can only become experts if they know various subjects. Even the basics of a particular subject can open the gate of opportunity for the students to think about innovative ideas. These students will always get extra benefit in jobs because they are the polymath. Therefore, learning different subjects will help the students to not only improve their cognitive ability but also provides them the opportunity to become an expert in various fields.