Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Education is something that should not be remained to the course books only. One should gain knowledge about different fields that may or may not be connected with their field. Learning only what your field requires limit one person ability to that particular field only.

I feel that universities should give options to student or make it compulsory for every student to take atleast one course different from their own field. Something different from your own field will help one to acquire knowledge about something that they might have to use in future. As it is said “Learning is never wasted”, no mater if it is even not related to their field it will help them learn something new and probably could help them in future. For example, to be the General Manager of a big MNC one does not only need the managerial skills to manage the company but he/she should also know about each department whether it is relating to marketing, finance or technology. Being general manager does not mean you should know about the commerce field or the managerial side of the company but it means that one should be able to tackle all the problems no matter what field it is related to.

To know about other field as well one need to study that field or have at least basic knowledge about that particular field. A person’s promotion is not only based on how he is performing in his own field but also that will he able to or is ready to adapt to the environmental changes coming which sometimes can be coming out of your comfort zone and doing something which might not be related to your field. Also learning or getting to know about different fields will not only help you gain something new but it will also help you know the other side of the world : Maybe how different people react differently in different situation.

Limiting one knowledge to only a specific field can be little disadvantage as compared to one who not only has knowledge about his field but also about different field. For example a company will definitely choose an employee for the Financial Analyst position who not only know about financial modelling or how finance should be taken care of but also about Seo realting to financial field so that it can help him immediately rectify a mistake that might had happened .

So, getting to know about different field is not something that will harm, infact it will help one to know something new which is different from his/her field and maybe he/she can persue something related to that field. Universities offering students to choose at least one subject not relating to them will help build student’s personality as well.