Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

University is a place to prepare students for their future endeavors. In universities, besides the respective fields, students learn other things that might be beneficial later in their life. So it is important that universities should require students to take courses outside their field of study while keeping in mind that the courses should be actually helpful for them.

Students in universities have to take a various range of courses in order to achieve their respective goals. In general, students are mostly concerned about courses in their relevant fields. However, taking courses exclusively of in their related fields may not be a viable plan. After graduating, when they will be engaged in various jobs, they will need a wide variety of knowledge even if their jobs are solely concerned in their particular fields.

As an example, engineering students can be considered. Engineering is mainly concerned about creating new technologies, developing industrial methods etc. But besides those, engineers also need to be aware of finance and work place ethics. These may seem to be of small importance, but they have a great impact in an engineers’ works. That is why universities require engineering students to take finance and accounting courses, work ethics courses etc. Students of different disciplines should have some basic knowledge about the society and culture, which help to make them a sophisticated and well educated human beings. Another example could be Physics majors taking Chemistry courses. While Chemistry courses are not part of the field of Physics, they should have at least have some basic ideas in Chemistry for situations that may arise in the future.

While courses outside the field are important, universities have to keep in mind the relevance of those courses in a students’ life. For example, if Chemistry students are required to take literature courses, they are not going to be of any help in their career. It will be a waste of both time and money. In the same way, taking quantum mechanics courses for history majors is also a waste of their resources.

So while students should be required to take courses outside their fields, the courses should be effective to their learning experience and future life.