Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

It is always better for students to have autonomy over choosing subjects to study hence, I believe that universities should not mandate the students to select courses that are out of their interested field because this might result in waste of resources and time. Furthermore, students might not perform well in those subjects which ensues in deplorable grades that might affect their overall grades. Also, in the worst-case scenario, this poor performance might cause depression to them which is very bad.

Firstly, if students have been started studying irrelevant subjects, they have been wasting their time and resources if these subjects do not have any connection to their fields and if they spend that time on the subjects pertinent to their fields then, they could improve their knowledge.

Secondly, for suppose, if a student did score badly in an impertinent subject then, his/her overall grades decrease. This will not be the case if they choose subjects relevant to their field of interest. Additionally, I have seen some of my friends who had suffered from depression because of bad performances in irrelevant subjects.

However, some may argue that, learning other subjects not relating to one’s field of interest is quite beneficial as this leads to diversification of knowledge, citing the paper on Bulb by Edison who used his knowledge of philosophy in presenting his thesis that earned him reputation as an inventor of bulb however, Tesla was the one who invented it first but failed to present this quickly on a paper as he had knowledge of physics only, unlike Edison. But these are very few number of cases where knowledge from other irrelevant subjects was required. So, in general, it is better to stick to relevant subjects.

In conclusion, as there might be waste of time and resources, poor performances in irrelevant subjects which may cause depression and it is not required to have knowledge of impertinent subjects in general, It is better to give students latitude in selecting their courses, not universities.