For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses.

The argument that this company can improve its profits, by selling only the domestic cheeses in all stores, is a flawed one. To arrive at this conclusion, some evidences are required such as about the genuineness of the survey, interests and the tastes of the people in areas in which it is running its stores, and the statistics of the types of cheeses sold, in the last five years, not of the last year only.

Firstly, information is needed about the veracity of the survey, because some surveys may show skewed data. What if the data of world magazine survey is distorted, then it is imbecile to stop selling the imported cheeses and concentrating primarily on the domestic cheeses, as this action may result in losses to the company.

Secondly, data regarding the tastes and interests of people is necessary. Because, there may be foreigners or immigrants dwelling in particular areas, who don't like the domestic cheeses, they like the imported ones. So, in these areas, it is futile to sell only the domestic cheeses. Consider, the Puducherry city in south India, there many French people residing there. If all the stores in it starts selling only the Indian food, then the stores confront severe losses.

Thirdly, even though the survey is genuine, one should not stop selling the imported cheeses based on last year only. A minimum of five years statistics are needed to implement any changes. Because, what if the statistics of all the years are similar and different to those of the last year. And may be, last year, domestic cheeses are sold most because of some peculiar reasons like no tourists or foreigners or people who like imported cheeses, visited the stores. Hence, it is effete to sell only the domestic cheeses only.

This argument could be strengthened if the evidences regarding the veracity of survey, the tastes of the people, the last five years statistics of cheeses sold. However, in current form, this argument is an erroneous one.