"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling kinds of cheese at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the company should diminish the number of imported cheeses and rely on domestic cheeses in order to develop profits and stop staggering costs. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence needs to be given.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that during last year all of the five selling kinds of cheese stores were domestic cheeses in the city of Wisconsin. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if other cities had relied on domestic cheeses during last year. One point that should be considered is that the author just provides information about one city and all stores are located in that city. So, there is not enough information about whether other cities relied on domestic or imported. It is also important to say that rely on domestic cheeses just during a year could not guarantee the profit of the company in next years. Indeed, maybe settlements in Wisconsin again prefer to use imported cheeses.

The author also points out that based on a survey, domestic cheeses are increasingly popular among people and citizens prefer consumption of domestic cheeses. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects due to the paucity of the evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the survey could not be reliable and accurate owing to the fact that there is not enough data about the way of the conducted survey. In fact, maybe people who could not afford imported cheeses were responders to this survey or maybe the company just wanted to create an advertisement in order to sell domestic cheeses in a large number.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author the company have stored both domestic and imported cheese for many years and people based on last year information preferred to buy domestic cheeses. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled evidence to support if people really preferred to rely on domestic cheeses during last year. One point that should not go unnoticed is that may be stored domestic cheeses during many years ago are going to be spoiled and the company decided to sell them in order to inhibit a harmful effect on the companies' income. There is a possibility that people still prefer to buy imported cheeses and the company just want to sell domestic cheeses through advertising.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there a piece of evidence having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.