Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Students often end up ruminating over the major they want to persue and take almost about an year to decide, after starting university. The prompt suggests that universities should require students to take cources only within the fields they are interested in. I disagree with the assertion made in the claim due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, not all cources taught in university are professional majors. Therefore, limiting the curriculum of any courses on one common criteria is not a great idea. For example, in University of Maryland there are two categories of majors, the arts and music, whereas the others are technical and management majors. Though, most of the students admitted to a technical or management course are observed to prefer persuing subjects that align completely with their fields. On the other hand, students who persue arts and music tend to opt the cources from diverse fields such as computer graphics, as most of the students find it interesting and helpfull for their careers. Hence, limiting students to choose courses only make them unable to pursue their true interests and most people often tend to have mutiple interests. These people look forward to their university years to learn such subjects or skills, which should be taken away from them.

Further, it has been observed that due to the ever changing market, it has become a necessaty to learn mutiple type of sujects and skills to stand out of the crowd. For instance, in medical profession, artificial intelligence has spread so quickly that most of the medical staff is strugulling to learn the technicalities of operating such complex machines every day. Therefore, students should be provided the facility to opt some of the courses on their own( 70 to 80 percent of courses can be fixed by the university and rest 30 percent courses can be kept as optional). This will help students develop, as overall professionals and excel in their fields using such self-opted courses, making it a beneficial academic strategy.

Furthermore, most of the times students join university, not completely sure about what they actually want to do with their lives, Therefore, it is necessary to provide them a chance to beat around the bush and learn by themseleves, their area of interest. A survey conducted by the Student Association of Delhi, talked to 5000 students from universities all around India, about why they selcted the course that they are currently persuing. The survey has published the results stating that around 70 percent students answered that, they opted the course they are persuing because either their firends were persuing the same course or either their teachers or parents motivated them to. This survey highlight an important trend, that students usually do not know what they actually want to persue and in such scenario limiting their exlopring capacity by tying them to a rigid default course structure will further prevent them from discovering their true interests.

Although, some may argue that students do no have a lot of time during their university years to persue mutiple unrelated courses at the same time. But, universities today have developed various methods to provide students with a chance to enhance their skills in different fields altogether through Bootcamps and seminars held periodically. Where, it is optional for students to attend them any number of days feasible. Also, lots of online courses have been introduced by universities for any additional or optional subjects; saving time and effort to attend classes everyday. Therefore , students need to be given a chance to decide on their own, which subjects they are actually interested in and choose accordingly.