Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Such situations have been observed where decisions from government officials were not welcomed, specially in democracies, it becomes a part of debate wether people serving in power should be given an uper hand when creating policies or what should be the role of common people and politicians in it. The prompt suggests that government officials should carry out the will of the people they serve. I do not completely agree with this suggestion due to the following two reasons.

Firstly, an individual who aspires to become a government official, has to go through difficult training required to work for the government and reguorious testing. Such people are already accostomed to handling a situation or problem where they are put on the spot to make difficult decisions. For instance, if an individual wants to persue a career of a police inspector, they will have to go through various trainings and testing for their decision making skills. This process for hiring has been created so that anyone working in such powerfull positions is in good shape to solve very convoluted issues and come out with unique and effective solutions unbiasely. Hence, it is important that government officials are not pressurized to work and base their decisions on people they are serving.

Furthermore, a government official serves two group of people. One is the government it is working for and the other is the common citizens for whom they have been hired to serve. Whereas, governments change from time to time and that means that policies along with the method of working and tackling issues may also change over the years. A government offical is a person who has to think about serving people in the best of their capability while facing an immese pressure from different governments in democracies. Therefore, it is extremly important for an official to have a strong stand for their decisions whenever required. This involves no getting influenced by the people they are serving and not getting defeated by the pressure of influencial people.

One such instance has happened recently, that due to heavy traffic in the city of Delhi, officials had to ask people about possible solutions of the problem. This problem was not only causing issues for people commuting for office but also contributed to the increasing pollution. After various suggestions from people it had been decided that a new rule will be implemented that will allow people to travel by vehicles alternately based on the last number of their number plates. "The odd even rule" was suggested by the people, which was taken by the government officials even after they could see forthcoming issues related to it. One of those issues was the continues checking of vehicles to see, if they have correct number plates of odd days and even number plates on even days and people not able to go out for work or emergencies as they had only one vehicle with either one of the number plates. Initially it was accepted with open arms, but later on, the same people started accusing officials for implementing it without much thought. Government officials had to withdraw this rule after facing a severe backlash. Hence, the decisions that government officials take, should always be based on their own judgement because otherwise people can have influence on their decisions and it can create a situation where same people end up creating a problem as that decision was not thorougly thought out.