University should require every student to take a variety of cources outside the student's field of study.

What should students learn in the university? The courses that student should take have always been the center of educational discussion. Some people claim that each of the university student has to attend extra courses outside the students's field of study. From my point of view, students with more knowledges from many other fields will have more competence in the future, but taking extra courses do not necessarily achieve the higher capability or success. In some cases, remaining a large scale of studying without any focus on one particular subject will weaken the student's strength of thinking.

Before going any further, it is necessary to clarify the goal for a university student to reach. Since the mission of a university student should learn, in my view, is to find their interest, boil their critical thinking, and develop the ability of solving difficult problems. simply put, university students must cultivate a professional skill or specific capability of their own to present their value to the company or the society in the future. With this pariticular mission, we can now discuss what courses that students should take in the university.

Taking a variety of courses outside the study field can definitely promote the students competence because if by this way they find their truly loving subject instead of the current, they will perform better in the particular learining field. In other words, studying widely gives another chance to explore their inner preferences and really good at. For example, while the well-known Chinese linguistics Zhao Yuanren have compelling accomplishment in the area of physics and math , he still dabbles at a lot of other field such as literature and translation, which he is more absorbed in. Aftering graduating from the Kornel University, he put all his soul and heart into translating and interpreting Chinese literature. Thanks to his efforts, not only we finally have such a brilliant linguistics, but also the Chinese works make impressive influence on the world at that time. That is the why university should let students learn knowledge more that they major in.

However, having courses outside the majoring field does not originate in am exact ability-promoting student. The increasingly probability of taking more courses outside the major cannot guarantee better thinking ability nor can a compromising future lead by abundant problem-solving skills be denied if the student does not possess superior extra courses cunducive to be more versatile. For instance, so many intelluctual scientists in the world might only focus on one particular field which they are unreclluctant to strive for the whole life. Einstein’s story can exemplifies my argument. He was so crazy about quantitive physics that even do not know how to dress himself when attending some official meeting. Some may argue that without a large scale of studying, university student cannot find what they desire to focus on and as a result of which, their competence will be depised or thrown down. But the way to find an interested learning field is not always to have courses outside the major. Sometimes student may have the right choice before entering the university. Therefore, as long as not jeopardize the mission of developing thinking ability and practise skill, the way of studying can be ignored. After all, given the clarification of university student's mission above, both having extra courses and focusing on a certain subject can accomplish university students' mission if they are able to identify critical goals of the college study and has ability to deeply think as well as solve the problems. These are the true essence of what university students should learn.

To summarize, it is evident that having courses outside the student's field of study do not equate to a further-developed thinking ability, neverless to say a compromsing career. That being said, possessing a wide knowledge can stimulate more resources to think deeply and explore themselves, but the essence of the mission which university student should achieve lies heavily in how to develop the learning ability and transfer it into practice.