We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

The issue statement says that we learn more from the people whose views are in congruence with us rather than those whose views contradict us. I completely disagree with this statement due to the following reasons : We will never get novel ideas, life will come to a standstill position, there will not be any progress and finally there won't be diversity of ideas. These reasons alongwith examples are dilineated below.

Firstly, when you converse with a person whose view points you share, you will hear only those things which you already know, you won't be able to congnite any new idea whereas but when you get in a conversation whose view points are directly contradicting your view points then you will even get new ideas of which you haven't even thought of. Cognitive power is different of every mind and new ideas arise in this way only. Thatswhy, people say critics are good rather than the sycophants who blindly cajole you. Therefore, we will learn from only those people whose view points are contradicting to us.

Secondly, there will not be any progress from that position and the life will come to a standstill position. Furthermore, there will not be any diversity of ideas and there will be homogeniety of ideas which will result in a hackeneyed situation. At first, people generally feel happy when people agree with them but later they realize, why they didn't listened to the critcs. For example, our parents even after getting good grades, they still say you should have studied more. So, in this case there is always a chance of improvement. When people agree with you all the time there is also a proudy and arrogant feeling came within the person which results in the ultimate demise of the person. For example, take the case of Great King Ashoka even after winning the whole world lost at the end due to the partisans. So, a person should always be humble and should listen to the people.

Lastly, as there is a saying that hear evreyone but do whatever you want to do. There are people who always castrate you, incongruence with you so in that case listen to those people who admire you, rather than those people who want to see you fall. Critics also act as a motivators. It is always the best feeling when everyone else want to see you fall. So, it is not always true that we only learn from the critics.

Hence, the reasons and examples mentioned proved that we learn the best from those whose views contradict us rather than from those view points are similar to us but in few case critics are even detrimental to us so the best thing is learn from healthy critucism only rather than blindly following any on of the above.