We learn much more from people whose views we share than people whose views contradict ours.

Learning something is a holistic process which comes from different aspect and viewpoint. I mostly disagree with the argument because seeing something from a different point of view gives a better understanding of the topic and make our position more accurate and firm. However, in many cases, it may also prove to be disadvantageous.

A Certain topic may be viewed from a different angle all of which may be true simultaneously. While learning something we should explore all the sides of a topic to get a better view and understanding of the topic. Ignoring opinions which contradicts our's may be detrimental to our own argument as we are neglecting the opportunity to test and make our argument more viable. Contradictions give the opportunity to see us what is wrong with our arguments, what can be done to make it more acceptable or why it is true. So, contradictory arguments actually act in favor of the argument that it contradicts. For instance, when we see the history of science, at first light was considered a wave. But then some scientists came with the contention that light can be particles also. These contradictory scientific theories made a massive contribution to understanding the nature of light and created the basis for modern physics. If certain theories were rejected just because they contradict the popular one, then we wouldn't have the scientific advancements that we have now.

The Inclination to one opinion may prove fatal as it destroys opinions which might create a whole new line of thought process.

However, adverse opinions don't always give the opportunity to thrive. Sometimes, it may hinder the progress. For example, in medieval Europe, it was a dark age for science as Churches hold great power over society and most people were afraid to go against the church.

Scientific advancements stood still as the Chruch punished or even sentenced the scientist to death whose theories went against religious belief. Scientists like Bruno, Copernicus was killed even Gallilieo was afraid to publish his work publicly. If there were no or little adversity from Church and religious people then science would have advanced more than it actually did. Adverse conditions are not always conducive to an opinion. It may even destroy the environment to nurture different contentions.

It is the constructive contradictions that test one's opinion make it more accurate and palatable. So we must take into account the opinions that go against our opinion for the sake of our own good. However, in some cases, the effects may be reverse.