we venerate loyalty to our schools, employers, institutions, friends as a virtue. Loyalty, however, can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one.

This statement claims that loyalty can have some negative effects beside of its benefits. However it is not clear that which kind of negative effects it talks about. These kind of issues can be analyzed in various aspects.

Despite this fact that loyalty is considered positive always but it can be used either in positive or negative way. In fact, the loyalty like all other matters has two contrasting aspects and it should be judged case by case to evaluate whether it is beneficial or harmful. For instance consider an institution which its employees believe the loyalty as a virtue. If this institution asks its employees to jeopardize the current rules of the society they will do this because they don't want to be disloyal persons. Although this functions seems beneficial for this institution but it is clearly harmful for the society.

On the other hand, the loyalty is fruitful just when it is used in a moderated level. I mean if a person in order to be a loyal person don't pay attention to his own situation he will be fallen in major troubles. For example, if a friend ask me to do something in favor of him and in order to show my loyalty in friendship but this activity has some certain major disadvantages for myself, what should i do? Is it true that I sacrifice myself just to be loyal or I should be loyal to myself instead and reject that request? The loyalty like all other subjects in life is full of this kind of dilemmas and there is no exact ruler to examine it in a superficially look.

The loyalty is almost positive and it has many significant impacts so it should be learned in all little societies like schools, institutions and even in friendships. However, it should be learned that loyalty is not always necessary and the situation can specify the essence of being loyal.

Introducing loyalty as a virtue is a great activity but it should be illustrated that it can be a vice as well. Indeed the loyalty is like a knife, it can either be used to peel an orange or to kill people. All in all, it is crucial to present a comprehensive definition of loyalty and cite its disadvantages as its advantages.