TPO 12 Task 2

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

In these competitive world it is crucial for us to get the most possible skills and abilities because they will come handy someday. On the other hand, Scientists believe that the mind has limit capacity and it can't place a fair amount information of various subjects. So this is a controversial issue which has always arguments between advocates and critics of both schools of thought.

We live in the era of technology and machines and the access to information in every subject is at the easiest and fastest form ever thanks to good inventions and developments. So in this modern time it is inevitable to get information from variety of sources and our job is just to limit and select the amount and subject of them in the way we want and need it. For instance, there are plenty of scientific TV programs and it is really hard task to choose our favorite and essential ones.

Moreover, nowadays everyone has some skills and abilities so we should compare each other to get better situation in every issue including job or education. This may force us to desire getting information in every subject even irrelevant ones to our field. For example, a person who is graduated in mechanical engineering should expand his skills in other areas like computer sciences and English language because employers expect some experts with high command in all areas. But the key point here is considering the capacity and efficiency of our mind.

Scientists believe that people can't have a deep understanding of subjects in various areas and fields and they will forget the information which they don't use in their daily life. So it is just wasting our time to get unnecessary information which we don't need and we can't make any improvement in our life using them. Meanwhile, because our knowledge is superficially so we aren't expert at those areas and consequently they will add us nothing.

As far I'm concerned it, it's preferable to get a very deep understanding in a certain subject rather than getting superficially knowledge in a vast variety of subjects. This is the better option because by this way we can focus and concentrate on a specific matter and our brain can organize information very well. Finally, I deeply believe that unnecessary information will just make our brain busy and will decrease its performance.