The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The sole purpose of having a government is to ensure the welfare of people. In any way, if that is not being fulfilled, the authorities must be questioned for reformation. People, who elects the ruling body, should also be responsible in participating in providing feedback or question the decision of government, when they aren’t satisfied. Thus, I agree with the given claim that the more the people questions the authority, the better will be people’s well being. The reason of being in favor of the claim is delineated in the body paragraphs.

First of all, if there comes a time when the ruling party isn’t working towards the well being of it’s people, it must be interrogated for it’s step. All people, either directly or indirectly, should be involved in giving feedback and asking questions on the decision taken. If the people aren’t satisfied, the entire motive of having the government falls apart. Therefore, constant questioning will help government to make better choices. It will then work what’s best for its people. To outline further, let’s consider a hypothetical situation, where the ruling body decides to ruin the farm area for building industries. Even though the industries can potentially create jobs for many people and attribute to the revenue of the region, we must question; whether the farmers will be equally happy with this step. If they aren’t happy with the decision, they must question the government. This way government will take a tactful decision, in order to ensure the overall welfare of every individual.

In addition, if people aren’t getting a say in government’s decision, they must ask for change in government. Democracy dies when rulers tend to renounce public opinion. Rulers are nothing but slaves to it’s public and if it fails to serve, it must leave the chair. Democracy is shifted to monarchy if the government doesn’t listen to its people. The example of Adolf Hitler well suits this position. When he was elected, he didn’t let his people speak and this led to widespread disregard of the government. The people weren’t happy. Hence, questioning the wrong government to leave the chair is the right way to make sure of people’s welfare.

However, government runs on the motivation of it’s people. Thus, unnecessary questioning can harass the government and lead to lesser productivity. People should understand the reason behind government’s step and only if they feel it as farcical, they should question the government. Sometimes, it so happens that some decision taken by government is to benefit the long-term goals at cost of some short-term problems. People should try to comprehend the entire situation before raising their voice.

In summary, the overall welfare of people is guaranteed when they question the authority ruling them. While, in doing so they should take into account of the situation and all possible solutions. Only if they feel, government could have chosen a better solution, they should question government’s decision.